zesty_pinto: (Default)
[personal profile] zesty_pinto
Week 2 of Peloton consistency and the most I can say is that the key to Peloton consistency comes from waking up early. That is to say, this week's been shit for my sleep. I can sleep without a leg pillow but now I'm also finding other problems that it comes with. I'll try sleeping with elevated legs tonight.

Currently processing through Bronx Zoo shots, this time through snow. Took some good ones because if I didn't then it wouldn't justify the 3000 images I have to sort through for the day.

This weekend I'm tempted to look through Brooklyn's Chinatown. It's easier to get to than Queens and Manhattan's and I don't have to worry about parking the same way I do Staten Island's (if there is one, there prob is). But I'd also like an excuse to walk in general, so we'll see. Michelle said we need to visit her parents, so that's going to be the other day.

Seal season is starting to reach its end too and I'm honestly tempted to try to catch at least one more Sandy Hook visit. I'm also aware that foxes are out more than ever but I am way too loud or something to catch them BUT we did see what I think was a fox while getting gas at our local Costco. Hooray!

Oh, and we're on top of a giant leak. This week's been a mess.

THE MESS
So our unit's been dealing with this loud drainage noise for what I'd say is about half a year now. We've mentioned it to the city, the landlords, etc. Most of the time, they dismissed it as something that should be looked into but not really.

WELL on Saturday night at 9pm we came back home to hear loud rattling noises. We were unsure what the hell was going on, but were able to figure out it was from the unit we share a back wall with. The noise stopped by 10, so in the morning we came by and saw the unit had a lot of clay mud and a whole bunch of cars in their driveway.

Later on, we get a visit from some people we weren't expecting. It turned out to be from the homeowner's management who were trying to ascertain a leak that has been flooding someone's garage (they also say "bedroom" which tells you what they did with the unit). The guy was jackhammering his garage to figure out what was happening, in fact.

So this lead to a bunch of people coming in and out of our unit looking at the drain where we've been hearing the noise. They said that they think it might be associated with a leak but also that they noted we haven't had any of these problems; in fact, we thought it might be from our neighbor's unit since they also have had water pooling in their driveway every so often.

This in fact was not the case, it's all leading to our unit, where it turns out we are situated over a set of pipes that center on the flow of all the water in our units.

So they found the valves, got to testing them (after getting the right parts to use them) and ended up breaking one of the valves, leaving our neighbor without water. The neighbor's pissed, they're also pissed because they have no idea what's going on, and now they have to dig out around our unit and replace pipes too.

Between this, Michelle's reaching some craziness with these new invisilign things that are forcing her to only eat for 2 hours a day, which is helping her diet but also making her life harder to manage. I say this because during that same time, she tried to avoid running over a random box and dinged the car against the garage. Mostly superficial stuff, thank god, but it's been a lot.

There was also an oil change where it was revealed that the car's in need of a lot of replacement parts, so that was like 3800 getting the tires replaced, axles replaced, and toe (tow?) hook replaced, which Michelle thinks may have been compromised from the accident awhile back.

On top of that, we had tornado warnings for the days all between this, meaning our internet was shit from the wind blowing out a transformer and I couldn't get any work done reliably. I came to a meeting late as a result and finally just told my boss that my signal is bad and we have plumbers that might try to look into our unit to fix this big problem and took two days off (I still worked though, there's too much shit for me not to).

OH one of Michelle's new lenses is also acting up, so we needed to send that in for repairs. Yay. At least it's still within warranty.

So yeah! Friday. Hopefully things will be a little more normal. I'm glad the plumbing stuff hasn't had them do any teardowns yet (we can still see though, there's a big hole in our front yard), and it isn't costing us anything beyond our time unlike the car fixes which couldn't have happened at a more convenient time (thank god for the bonuses which were used to pay off that and the last of the trip expenses, we're set for Iceland).


Things I need to do:
-Design a popup card for June wedding
-Prep for next week's trip (booked a home for the weekend to Conowingo dam)
-Get more work done (stuff is coming back)

I have some cute images of animals and it's soothing, also got a fair number of the Paterson waterfall during winter. Looking forward to finally getting to the timelapse stuff, which dinged my fucking 35mm but at least has some great potential. Will share when I have the time.

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
891011 121314
1516171819 20 21
22232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 23rd, 2026 09:32 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios